Skip to content

Davidisms

Live Intentionally, Die Empty

scary

This week my wife starting working for the same company I work for. It’s been cool for her us to carpool home together and her to tell me about well I am spoken of by people she meets while there. They tell her about my excellent work and rave about how much they respect me. That feels good. But then I thought to myself… how awful it would be if when people told her how “great” and “nice” I was that she would internally be rolling her eyes wondering if they were even talking about the same person that she knows from home.

I decided a long time ago two things:

1. I will be the same person in public as I am in private. What you  see is what you get.

2. The people at my job will not get the better part of me (i.e. respect, entreaties, manners, etc.) than the people who sit at my dinner table.

I figured if I could live by these two things then I would be ok.

Think about this: If you had to sit before God and everybody that you knew today and there were two theater sized screens playing simultaneously the events of your life, would you be ashamed of what’s being displayed on either screen. Or would you be proud of the integrity, character, and overall excellence of your “double feature?”

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

