Skip to content

Davidisms

Live Intentionally, Die Empty

Recently I made a commitment to read at least one book monthly surrounding my busy schedule. I graduated from college several years ago and had really stop reading books for recreation due to having to be forced to read textbooks and other books that were NOT of my choosing. So enough time has passed that I can read what I choose to read. So I decided that I would post what I am reading just for your information.

“How To Win Friends and Influence People” by Dale Carnegie: It’s one of the first bestselling self help books ever published (1936). This book is about exactly what the title says and is broken up into 6 sections: 1. Fundamental Techniques in Handling People, 2. Six Ways to Make People Like You 3. Twelve Ways To Win People To Your Way of Thinking, 4. How To Change People Without Giving Offense or Arousing Resentment, 5. Letters That Produced Miraculous Results and 6. Seven Rules to Make Your Home Life Happier. I have been trying to read this book since I heard about it in high school. It’s a classic and I don’t ever want to say that I didn’t read this book.

“Perelandra” by CS Lewis. I have no real clue that this book is going to be about. It was published in 1943 and I have recently become interested in CS Lewis’ works so here goes. This will probably be a difficult read for me because it is science fiction which I don’t particularly care for. But from what I understand it deals with issues of the value of heirarchy, the dullness of Satan, and the nature of unfallen sexuality.

“UnChristian: What a New Generation Really Thinks About Christianity…and Why It Matters” by David Kinnaman. This book is about what young Americans think about Christianity. The age range of the study is late teens to early 30 somethings who think that Christians are  judgmental, antihomosexual, hypocritical, too political and sheltered. Kinnaman shares ways that church activities have reallly been unchristian and try to convince them to return to a more biblical Christianity. I am very curious to dive into this one.

“The Pilgrim’s Regress” by CS Lewis. This is CS Lewis’ first book after his conversion to Christianity and is a record of his own search for meaning and spritual satisfaction that eventually led him to Christianity.

That’s it. If any of them are worth another mention    I’ll let you know.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

