Skip to content

Davidisms

Live Intentionally, Die Empty

I bet Miss California Carrie Prejean thinks that she drew the short straw. I wonder if she replays in her mind how the “luck of the draw” landed her with a situation where she was faced with taking a stand for something that she believed when the contestant right before her only had to answer how she got her nickname. At guess that these thoughts are really of no consequence at this point because what’s done is done. She had to answer the question in a nationally televised pageant about what she believed about gay marriage. And to everyone’s surprise she boldly stated that while she respects people’s right to choose what type of relationship they wanted to be in, she believed that marriage was between a man and a woman. It was an interesting chain of events. Everyone probably thought that it would go over smoothly. I mean, she was from the state of California where anything goes, she was asked the question by gay pageant judge and blogger Perez Hilton. Pageants are where people give “safe” answers. It was all supposed to go so different. But it didn’t.

Immediately after she answered the question all hell broke loose. Perez Hilton went on a rampage both on his blog and I think I even saw him on Larry King. I’m confused about the backlash. If they wanted her to give a certain answer, why didn’t they show her a cue card. Now the latest is what prompted me to write this post today. Somebody has leaked nude pictures of Miss California when she was 17. I saw that news today while watching Headline News today. Caller after caller called into the show calling her a “hypochristian” (a play on the word hypocrite, if you didn’t get it.) The segment was titled, “Can A Nude Model Be A Model Christian”

Here are my quick thoughts:

1. The message of Christianity is forgiveness: Christians aren’t perfect. Just forgiven. Carrie Prejean stated that the pictures were taken when she was a minor. Chances are she may not have even been a Christian then. She said that she made a mistake. As long as she has made it right with God she doesn’t need the approval of anyone else.

2. Let he who is without sin cast the first stone: Yes, it’s important for Christians to be good examples to the unbeliever and I agree that if she was a believer at that time she should have had a higher standard. But the fact of the matter is that we don’t know all the details surrounding that time and neither is it any of our business. All the people that were calling in or have some sort of opinion on the matter, isn’t it nice that your life isn’t on display so that we can see what you have done in the booth, in the back, in the corner and in the dark

3. Attacked for her stand: I absolutely believe that she is being attacked for her stand and I don’t think that’s fair. It doesn’t matter what side of the issue you are on. She should be entitled to her opinion/belief. If she had gotten up there and stated the opposite opinion then there would have been another group upset. I commend her for going against the grain. It seems controversial. But truth is always controversial. (I’m sure a few of you are not going to like that. But I don’t care.)

4. Do I think she should lose her crown: Yes, but not because she posed naked. She should lose her crown because she signed a contract upon entering this pageant that said that she has not taken any inappropriate pictures. And she flat lied. I have a bigger problem with her lack of integrity then her being nude in those pictures.

I could go on. I won’t.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

